top of page
Anchor 1

Our History

Newport Rugby Club was established in 1963 (largely for ages below 18). However, in 1966, the first Senior team was formed to play in the NSW Suburban Rugby Competition.

In 1969, the "Tip" at Porter Reserve was converted into a playing field (by way of a bulldozer's demonstration day) to create our current home...


In the early 70s - the then Newport RSL Club (adjoining the oval) was transferred for the use of the Rugby Club.

And in 1972 we won our first Premiership...


Over the years the Breakers (as they have become known) have won a number of premierships - the pinnacle being the 1999 Kentwell Cup... 


KentwellCup1999FirstGradePremiersRev2 .j
2003 BarracloughPremiers760pxw.jpg

Then in 2003 the Barraclough Cup... 


And in 2017 - Newport took out the Campbell Cup...


And again in 2019...


With Newport's Colts also winning the Minor Premiership and Grand Final in 2019...


Perhaps our Greatest year was 2020 during the Covid19 Pandemic...

We won three Premierships, the Club Championship and Club of the Year (which is from all divisions).  The President was Jake Osborne with 1st Grade Coach: Eddie Wayling, 



Covid19 ruined the 2021 season - with the last game on 20 June and no Finals.

But at least we got our new Breakettes started with a few games before the shutdown....  

Breakettes Inaugural win March 2021v2.jpg

Then in 2022 - still with Jake Osborne as President and new Headcoach Greg Lee (different one to our late President of 1980-84) - we won the Division 2 Club Championship.

Our 1st Grade were Barraclough Cup Minor Premiers and defeated UNSW in a gripping

17-12 Grand Final at TG Milner...

Newport Dailyy - Barraclough Cup and Club Champs 2022 cropd .jpg

Also in 2022 - Our Blunt Cup Team were Minor Premiers... 

NRC Blunt Cup Minor Premiers 2022.jpg

Last year (2023) we were again in the 2nd Sub-District Division, competing for the Barraclough Cup in 1st Grade. But there were only 3 Senior men's teams plus Colts.

It was a smaller competiton of only 7 Clubs but we were Grand Final Winners of the inaugural Joy Johnson Cup (Women's 7s) and won The Robertson Cup (Colts) in front of a great crowd at the brand new Concord Oval.

So, huge Congratulations to them both...

2023-08-19 NRC Colts Grand Final Winners.jpg

Also in 2023 - Jack Hanley was voted Colts Player of the year across all clubs...

Jack Hanley 2023 3.jpg

In 2024 our 2nd Div competition returns to 8 clubs

We shall compete for the Barraclough Cup plus Colts, 3 other grades and our Ladies will again be playing 7 as side rugby

Their results will contribute to the Club Championship and Cowboy Cup standings. 

At the time of writing (March) we are looking in great shape, with many training twice weekly

Also our Over 35s have a strong calendar of social fun - usually preceded by some contact rugby as an excuse.

In the Summer - all of the above have the option to play TriTag Rugby starting 18 October.

Supporters are invited to join our "Broken Breakers" with whom they can enjoy social events put on for them during the year, plus badge draws, clothing and newsletters.

Newport believes in mateship, hardwork and fun - with a strong community based ethos. The majority of our players are resident on the Northern Beaches of Sydney. The club has in excess of 250 registered players and officials, and we pride ourselves in the fact that we are one of the most successful clubs in the NSW Suburban competition.

Our home ground is located at Porter Reserve, Burke Street, Newport and we offer players and supporters the benefit of our own club house adjacent to the ground following home games.

The Club seeks to actively participate in the improvement of the local community, by providing a strong football club for the local youth of the Northern Beaches. We have just completed upgrades to the ground with a complete resurface of Porters Reserve, we now have new lights for training and we are upgrading the clubhouse and the change sheds to ensure the local players have the best facilities. 

The new Clubhouse/Changing rooms for our Ladies opened in 2023 and will give a huge boost in 2024 - to our inaugural Joy Johnson Cup Winners... 

bottom of page